logo Heading















Peterborough Flying Aces - September 3rd 2017    RESULTS

As at 18:05 Sunday - 16:05 Tuesday, typos corrected plus thanks to Vintage Model Company for their cash prizes.

KK Elf Precision
Precision flight time contest for the "Elf" model. Model must use a 6 inch Dia Plastic prop.
1st  K Wallace 2nd  Joe Harper 3rd  Mike Sanderson
KK Elf Duration
1st  G Hannah 2nd  Tony Rushby 3rd  Ken Bates
KK Elf - Overall Position
1st  K Wallace (£50 Prize) 2nd  Tony Rushby (£30 Prize) 3rd  Mike Sanderson (£20 Prize)
  Cash Prizes kindly donated by the Vintage Model Company
Open Rubber Scale
Masefield Rules ie NO FLIGHT JUDGING, just duration plus bonuses.
Take model to control for bonus allocation.
1st  Mike Stuart 2nd  Mike Sanderson 3rd  Chris Strachan
  Cessna 310   Globe Swift   Family Cruiser
Open CO2/Electric Scale
"Stand off" scale judged against plan/ three view plus judged flight profile of launch/flight/landing.
Any C02 motor/tank permitted.
1st  C Brainwood 2nd  Andy Sephton 3rd  Chris Strachan
  Piper FC   Be 2C   Monocoupe
Kit Scale
ANY rubber powered kit model up to 36" span. Model judged against kit plan plus judged flight profile.
1st  Mike Stuart 2nd  Mike Sanderson 3rd  Tony Rushby
  Curtiss Shrike   Aeronca Champion    Auster Autocar
Jetex/Rapier Authentic Scale
Judged against model plan/three view and judged flight profile.
1st  John Digby 2nd  Andy Blackwell 3rd  Mike Stuart
  Messerschmitt ME263   DH 108   F10S Thunderchief
Jetex/Rapier Profile Scale
Judged against model plan/three view and judged flight.
1st   Mark Digby 2nd  John Digby 3rd  Andy Sephton
  Saab Gripen   Junkers EF128   Vixen
Ducted Fan Scale
1st  Derek Knight 2nd  Derek Knight   
  DH Swallow   Fouga Cyclone
20" span and length. Max 8" plastic prop, 6 gram motors (may be external)
1st  Andy Sephton 2nd  Andrew Longhurst 3rd  Bert Whitehead
  Long John   Bitza   Paulas Frittata
Cloud Tramp
5 flights NO MAX. (best and worst times discarded, and the remaining 3 times totalled.
Note! If fewer than 5 flights logged the best and worst are still discarded.
1st  Bert Whitehead 2nd  John Brown 3rd  Phil Wigley
Tailless Rubber Duration
Max span 30" (tip to tip). Max rubber 10gm, Prop 9.5" max dia. commercial plastic. (May be modified.)
No inflight movable surfaces except DT)
1st  Chris Blanch 2nd  Andrew Longhurst 3rd  Kevin Wallace
  Clean Sweep   Mayzee   o/d
Frog Senior Rubber Power Duration
for plan go to http://www.houseoffrog.co.uk/ or contact PMFC
1st  Tony Rushby 2nd  Chris Strachan 3rd  Mike Sanderson
  Red Wing   Tomtit   Redwing
Catapult Glider
Catapult, max 2 grams rubber on a 6" max handle.( This equates to 140mm of 3/16" in a single loop.)
Any model permitted
1st  James Day (Junior) 2nd  Naomi Day (Junior) 3rd  Andy Sephton
  o/d   Hugelet   Zingwing
Duration Rubber Ratio
NO MAX. Any rubber powered model with wing span 16"-25" (tip to tip).
Flight score is total time in secs (from 3 flights) divided by span in inches.
1st  Chris Blanch 2nd  Andy Sephton 3rd  Andrew Longhurst
  Tubby 2   Long John   Condor Curlew
Table Top Precision
Precision flight time event for Rubber models. Models must Rise off Table.
1st  Derek Knight 2nd  Ian Hibbert 3rd   Tony Johnson
  Red Wing   Achilles   F A Moth
High Start Glider Any glider up to 36" span launched by the supplied "Hi start" bungee.
Also includes prize for the best performance of a SCALE glider (proof of scale required)
1st  Andy Sephton 2nd  Terry Page 3rd  Chris Strachan
  Gnome   Gregor   Merlin
Rubber Scramble 20 minutes, use any rubber powered model that qualifies for one of the above events.
Competitor must wind, launch and retrieve.
1st  D Banks 2nd  Ian Hibbert 3rd  Ray Millard
  o/d   Cloud Tramp   Cloud Tramp
Best Unorthodox was won by Graham Gostick - Tailess biplane
Flying Swarm was won by Chris Blanch
Young Flying Ace was won by James Day
Best WW1 Model - Veron Fokker D8 by Andy Green